Alumni Association celebrates 2016 College Outstanding Alumni Awards

COAA group

Wright State University recognizes its college outstanding alumni each year. Ten honors were awarded on February 26, 2016, during the 17th annual College Outstanding Alumni Awards. These individuals represent some of the best and brightest in their fields and are a tribute to the education they received from Wright State.

Each of our award winners were chosen by their respective college's dean, based on the following criteria:

  • Achieving a significant level of accomplishment in their chosen profession
  • Making a positive impact on a local, state, national or international level
  • Having demonstrated impressive volunteer service by giving significantly of their time and talents through professional and community service organizations seeking the advancement of Wright State
  • Possessing high standards of integrity and character that positively enhance the prestige of the university

During the 2016 ceremony, each college recognized former students who have gone on to make exceptional contributions to their professional fields while giving back to their communities. Provost Tom Sudkamp and our university deans presented the following recipients with the 2016 College Outstanding Alumni Awards:

Boonshoft School of Medicine
Sophia K. Apple, '92 M.D.

Raj Soin College of Business
Beth A. Hunter, '87 B.S.B.

College of Liberal Arts
Kathleen Y.S. Davis-Siudut, '04 B.A., '07 M.A.

College of Education and Human Services
Katherene LaRue-Martin, '07 B.S.Ed.

College of Engineering and Computer Science
Jennifer Whitestone, '96 M.S.Eg.

School of Professional Psychology
Cedric L. Alexander, '97 Psy.D.

Wright State University – Miami Valley College of Nursing and Health
Jayne Lachey Gmeiner, '85 B.S.N., '87 M.S.

College of Science and Mathematics
Grady Burkett, '02 B.S., '04 M.S.

Wright State University Graduate School
Nan Whaley, '09 M.P.A.

Wright State University Lake Campus
Thomas D. Rable, '86 B.S.B.